The Great Balancing Act

Jenn Marie Maxwell

In The Know – Getting Your Family on a Shared Calendar

on June 18, 2013

Photo Credit

One of the most effective ogranizational methods that my husband and I have begun doing is to have a shared Gmail calendar. We both have smartphones of which we can continually access the calendar from and stay on the same page regarding everyone’s schedules and events.

This has been an especially essential tool with having many prenatal appointments throughout my pregnancy. I can input the appointments that inform my husband what doctor we are seeing and where the office is. This is where the wife in me gets a little sneaky…I always put the appointment 15 minutes before it actually starts and always set a reminder for the day before. I guess he knows this now…Love you Husband!

However, I am still a little old-fashioned when it comes to my personal calendar. I still maintain my paper calendar book. I can’t help it…I’m attached to the darn thing and love it. I’m just not ready to let go of it yet. I keep it in my purse so I can jot down items to add to the shared calendar and also maintain all of my personal appointments and schedules. This is where I typically plan my school work in addition to my work schedule. All those roles come alive in this calendar!

It’s mind-boggling as to how many great tools there are for creating an organization hub for your family calendar. Here is an article with some great family organizing apps. The app that interests me the most is Cozi. I’m definitely going to try it out and let you all know how it works for my family.

Another great resource that I have recently stumbled upon is on the blog for Business Productivity titled, Effective Calendar Management. I have already implemented many of the tools discussed in this blog and they work great! As a busy mom, and as ridiculous as it sounds, I schedule my own “personal” time. Yes, it’s even color-coded purple and let me tell you – I’m always looking for the purple bubbles in my calendar! This is where I put my hair, nail, Target…(Yes Target – Why is it so relaxing to just walk around that store?) appointments.

The key to having an effective family calendar is to prioritize, plan ahead, and to communicate with your family. In doing so, it eliminates many stressful situations that arise by not being able to be on the same page regarding your family schedule.

I say, just give it a go. It doesn’t have to be professionally done or cost money. Just slap some appointments on something and share it with your family. All families are different and only you will truly know what will work for yours. There’s tons of information available online to research and find a system or combination of systems that might help you become more organized.

Also, if you have some great tips or ideas let me know by leaving a comment – my family calendar and system is ever-changing and it’s always fun to try new things!

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

