The Great Balancing Act: Achieving Balance

Jenn Marie Maxwell

When Life Gives You Lemons

on June 22, 2013

4.0.1 Photo Credit

Make some Lemonade

 …and take a bubble bath

Normally, I would use grapes for wine but being 8.5 months pregnant I’m pretty obsessed with lemonade. Point is, we all need to take time out for ourselves and with living such busy lives we need to take the moments as they come.

How do you relax? When was the last time you took time out for yourself to recharge?

It’s all too easy to get into “go” mode with families, work, and maintaining relationships. What we also need to make sure we do is that we have a “me” mode.

Your “me” time has to be just as important as family, work, and relationship time. Remember the days when we had tons of time to think about our own hopes, dreams, and goals? Awwww….It seems like just yesterday – but what’s stopping you from it actually being yesterday? I’m a woman; not just a mom, wife, employee. I am me, and I can’t forget what makes me, ME. My husband didn’t fall in love with the roles that I take on.  He fell in love with my ideas, values, hopes, dreams, and goals. Don’t let yourself forget about who you are and what you are about.

Taking time out for yourself will make your life even more balanced than you could ever imagine. You won’t feel like something is missing and when the other roles become more demanding you won’t have a negative balance in your “me” time account.

Here’s a great blog about the importance of “me” time for moms. Spouse’s should be included in this too. There are times when my husband and I look at each other and we just know we are both frazzled and need some time to ourselves. And this is okay. Actually, this is great. Even if it’s him zoning out online or taking a drive – I want this for him and for me. It not only gives us something different to talk about but recharges our individuality to prepare us for the craziness that our life always seems to present. It makes us stronger and more prepared for life.

The better we feel about ourselves, the better we can serve in all of the roles that we take on.

Many of us take such high interest in our families overall health, but neglect to address our own health and wellness. The first thing that I always end up taking off my list is exercise. When I was single, I would hit the gym every single day regardless of how tired I was. I didn’t have to worry about when or what to cook for dinner and could take as much time as I needed. I NEVER took my cell phone on the elliptical with me and focused on what my body needed.
…Now, that’s a different story. I love to workout but for some reason that time always seems to get buried in the other details of my crazy life. This is something that I am working on addressing because when my body looks and feels good, I feel more prepared for the world.

Doesn’t this look like Heaven?

Picture 207
This great blog covers 7 ways for a mom to take care of herself.
Photo Credit

So go ahead…Grab a glass of whatever you choose and spend some time with yourself. Take a long bath, read a book, journal, go for a jog – do whatever YOU need for YOU. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

