The Great Balancing Act: Achieving Balance

Jenn Marie Maxwell

Mommy Management Skills

on July 7, 2013

tumblr_m94nx66Ipp1qcc6ya
As a Management student at the University of Nevada, Reno I was thinking today about what management and leadership skills that I might use at home. Then I realized, tons! Running a household is no easy task. There’s a lot to get done and not a lot of time to do it.

Here are some skills that moms use on a daily basis:

1. Time Management – I know there are many days where I am the first to rise and the last to go to sleep. I know when/where each member of my family has to be for the day and everything that needs to get done. Somehow and someway moms manage to fit all of the crazy schedules and tasks into each day. Moms prioritize their time, set schedules, and adhere to deadlines.

2. Project Management – School functions and family functions don’t just happen. They are intricate projects that require extensive planning and management. Moms have this amazing ability to look at the whole picture and break all of the aspects down into tasks. This week my family planned a last minute trip to beautiful Lake Tahoe for the 4th of July. I had to think about just as much for our trip as I do for a project at work! Making lists, planning shopping trips, mileage, packing efficiently, activities to do throughout the day…This was a project!

3. Communication Skills – Moms can go from talking to a 2 year-old and without skipping a beat jump into a complex conversation with an adult. They know the value of clear instructions and utilize various forms of communication every single day – writing an email about an event you are planning, texting with the husband about dinner, jumping on Skype with the grandparents, and calling around town to schedule an appointment…And all of this in one day!

4. Training – I’m very familiar with this right now as my older children are learning more skills within the home regarding cleaning and home maintenance. I have trained them, provided check-lists of items that need to be done, and do a little quality assurance inspection at the end of the day. Everyday moms provide instructions, guidance, and teaching to their families. I can’t wait to teach my daughter how to swim, only because I remember my mom with me in the pool for what seemed like hours to teach me. Her patience, clear instructions, and guidance are something that I use when training employees and even my family.

5. Problem Solving – Let’s face it, things happen and almost always unexpected. The washer quit working, a child sprains an ankle, new brakes are needed on the car, or the kids are fighting. Moms are always there to solve whatever problems or issues that arise. They don’t skip a beat and just jump right on in!

AllAroundAwesomeMomsLogo-1

So pat yourself on the back moms! You have some amazing skills that you use every single day and may not even notice it. You maintain households, plan events, keep the peace in the home, and maintain all types of relationships! Here’s even more skills that you use everyday as a “Mompreneur.”

What other skills do you use as a mom that could be used professionally?

PHOTO CREDIT JUGGLING MOM

PHOTO CREDIT AWESOME MOMS

Leave a Reply

