The Great Balancing Act: Achieving Balance

Jenn Marie Maxwell

Smart Mommy uses her Smart Phone

on July 8, 2013

smartphone-apps
My grandma used calendars and notebooks to keep track of her family, as did my mom. But me…I use my smartphone for everything, especially keeping track of my busy life and my family. It’s pretty common for most of us that our smartphones are typically within an arms reach at any moment – even on our nightstands while we sleep. I don’t know if you are like me but without my phone I feel as though I would be completely lost. It’s not just a great organizational tool but also a great balancing tool with what seems like limitless capabilities at my fingertips all.the.time. If you need something, there’s most likely an app for it.

Here’s what I have been using mine for a lot lately:

Cooking – When coming up with the current week’s meals I frequent apps like Pinterest, Better Homes and Gardens, and Allrecipes. Now, more than ever, you see people shopping at the store with their phones or tablets sitting in the front of their cart (I love seeing the kids in the seat looking at the phone and checking things off the grocery list – so cute!!!) I have even been at the store with cooking block – what the heck am I going to make tonight – and have found a recipe while standing in an aisle. I have also used my phone to bring up the recipe in the kitchen and refer to that instead of printing it. Do they make stands for these in the kitchen yet?

Banking & Budget – There are great apps for banking and paying bills. I frequently access our bank accounts using the apps, pay my bills, and keep my check register on an app. Keeping updated on how much money is coming in and going out is essential to balance. It’s fast and easy, who can complain about that?

Card Star – The app that forever changed my key chain. I hated…really hated having so many of those darn cards taking over my key chain. I even tried to keep a separate ring in my purse just for these things. But now I don’t have too! Card Star keeps all of your loyalty cards in one awesome place that ISN’T intrusive to the key ring. With the touch of a finger, you can access all of your loyalty cards. It also offers discounts and coupons to your favorite places. Awwww….Loyalty card relief!

Yelp – Looking for a new restaurant for date night? Or a family-friendly establishment? I use this app more and more everyday to find what I’m looking for. I have found car washes, stores, and have even perused the app to see what’s around me. It’s great to read reviews and see the menu before even stepping foot into a place.

These are just the apps that I am currently frequenting but if you search online there are lists upon lists of useful apps.
Here’s two great lists – Best Paid and Free iPhone Apps for Moms & 25 Best Apps for Working Moms .

Now that I’m about to have a baby I’m sure there will be even more apps that I will find and use. Know any good ones?

Leave me a comment and tell me how your smartphone has become integrated into your life as a mom?

PHOTO CREDIT

Leave a Reply

